MyMichigan Medical Center Sault

500 Osborn Boulevard, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783

Operator

MYMICHIGAN HEALTH · 2 facilities

Provider number (CCN)
235381
Certification
Medicare and Medicaid
Ownership
Non profit - Corporation
Certified beds
51
Phone
(906) 635-4460
CMS data as of
August 1, 2026
F
stable

Deficiencies 0% over tracking period

What the records show

CMS rates MyMichigan Medical Center Sault 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 of 5 for health inspections, 1 of 5 for staffing, 1 of 5 for quality measures. Federal inspectors cited 30 health deficiencies across the last three survey cycles, most recently surveyed in 2026, 2 at actual-harm level or higher. CMS enforcement records list 1 fine totalling $2,797 and 1 payment denial.

Facility Assessment Inspectors recorded 2 citations at the actual-harm level or worse in the last three survey cycles.

Reviews, Ratings and Official Records

This page reviews MyMichigan Medical Center Sault using federal government records — CMS star ratings, health-inspection findings, staffing data and enforcement actions. NursingHomeGrade does not collect, host or publish resident or family testimonials, and no star rating below is a consumer review score.

Partial-data grade: missing RN staffing. Missing components add no positive points. RN staffing data not reported — review the inspection and enforcement records below.

Ratings and Grade Breakdown

RN Staffing
Registered nurse time each resident receives daily. 2024 federal benchmark: 0.55 hrs. Repealed February 2026.
Not reported

The 0.55 hour RN standard was repealed effective February 2, 2026 and is not currently enforced. We still grade against it. Why

Health Deficiencies (last 3 survey cycles)
Violations found during federal inspections, with how many remain open and how many involved actual harm.
Total 30
Outstanding 0
Actual harm or worse (G–L) 2
CMS Ratings
Federal five-star ratings published by CMS. These are regulatory ratings, not consumer review scores.
Overall: ★☆☆☆☆ (1/5)
Health inspection: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Quality: ★☆☆☆☆ (1/5)
Staffing: ★☆☆☆☆ (1/5)
NursingHomeGrade Score
12/100

Loaded into NursingHomeGrade on September 5, 2026. This is the load date, not the date CMS published the underlying survey data — see release dates.

CMS scores each facility from one to five stars — one is in the bottom fifth of facilities in its state on health inspections, five is in the top tenth. Our own A–F grade is a separate 0–100 score built from staffing hours, inspection citations, and the severity and correction status of those citations, weighted as described in our grading methodology.

Inspection Records Covered

Source records: CMS Care Compare profile for provider 235381 ↗ · the federal files we load and when.

Inspection Deficiencies

Health inspections identify violations of federal standards. Severity ranges from no actual harm (A–F) to immediate jeopardy (J–L).

2 actual harm issues found among 30 total deficiencies. 30 corrected.

Most recent inspection (January 14, 2026)

E Potential harm — pattern F0887 Status: Corrected

Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 9, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0881 Status: Corrected

Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 9, 2026

F Potential harm — widespread F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 9, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0756 Status: Corrected

Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.

Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 10, 2026

G Actual harm — isolated F0686 Status: Corrected

Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 19, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0745 Status: Corrected

Provide medically-related social services to help each resident achieve the highest possible quality of life.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 9, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0554 Status: Corrected

Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.

Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 9, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0628 Status: Corrected

Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.

Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 10, 2026

Inspection cycle 2 (December 4, 2024)

F Potential harm — widespread F0868 Status: Corrected

Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly

Administration Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0600 Status: Corrected

Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.

Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 4, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0609 Status: Corrected

Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.

Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 25, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0610 Status: Corrected

Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.

Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0880 Status: Corrected

Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

F Potential harm — widespread F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

E Potential harm — pattern F0810 Status: Corrected

Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0808 Status: Corrected

Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0759 Status: Corrected

Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.

Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

G Actual harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 13, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0684 Status: Corrected

Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0692 Status: Corrected

Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0657 Status: Corrected

Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.

Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 25, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0623 Status: Corrected

Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.

Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0625 Status: Corrected

Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.

Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 17, 2025

Inspection cycle 3 (October 20, 2023)

F Potential harm — widespread F0880 Status: Corrected

Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

F Potential harm — widespread F0882 Status: Corrected

Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

C No harm — widespread F0732 Status: Corrected

Post nurse staffing information every day.

Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

E Potential harm — pattern F0806 Status: Corrected

Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

D Potential harm — isolated F0810 Status: Corrected

Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

D Potential harm — isolated F0690 Status: Corrected

Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

D Potential harm — isolated F0692 Status: Corrected

Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 28, 2023

Fines and Enforcement Actions

Penalties CMS has imposed on this facility. A fine is a civil money penalty; a payment denial suspends Medicare or Medicaid payment for new admissions.

Date Action Amount or length
March 3, 2025 Payment Denial 32 days
August 28, 2023 Fine $2,797

1 fine totalling $2,797.

Source: CMS Penalties file (dataset g6vv-u9sr).

Ownership and Contact Information

Facility name
MyMichigan Medical Center Sault
Address
500 Osborn Boulevard, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone
(906) 635-4460
Provider number (CCN)
235381
Ownership type
Non profit - Corporation
Operator
MYMICHIGAN HEALTH · 2 facilities
Medicare/Medicaid certified since
January 1, 1979
Official record
CMS Care Compare profile ↗
Details verified against CMS data dated
August 1, 2026

The federal nursing-home files publish no email address for certified facilities, so none is listed here. We do not guess or construct contact addresses. Contact details above are reproduced from CMS Provider Information; call the facility to confirm before relying on them.

How We Stay Independent

NursingHomeGrade is strictly independent. We do not accept payments from facilities. Our grades are calculated solely from federal CMS datasets.

Learn about our data methodology →

Nearby facilities in Sault Ste. Marie

Compare local nursing homes using the same CMS-backed grading method.

Compare nearby →
B

Medilodge of Cheboygan

824 South Huron, Cheboygan, MI 49721

70/100 score 1.28 hrs RN staffing 9 deficiencies
A

Medilodge of Rogers City

555 North Bradley Highway, Rogers City, MI 49779

89/100 score 1.18 hrs RN staffing 3 deficiencies

Sources and Methodology

The NursingHomeGrade score is our own calculation from these federal files — it is not a CMS rating and not a consumer review score. See exactly how the score is calculated · full methodology · source files and load dates.

Need help choosing a facility?

Get free guidance from senior living advisors. We don't earn a fee for these links, and we never take payment from nursing facilities.

Get help finding alternatives ↗ Compare nearby ↗

↗ Links open independent third-party sites in a new tab.

Get score alerts for this facility

We'll email you when MyMichigan Medical Center Sault's staffing score changes.

More Facilities

Near Sault Ste. Marie

Better graded nearby

All Michigan facilities →