FLANDREAU SANTEE SIOUX TRIBE CARE CENTER

909 JONES DR, FLANDREAU, SD 57028

Provider number (CCN)
43A139
Certification
Medicaid
Ownership
Non profit - Other
Certified beds
42
Phone
(605) 573-2100
CMS data as of
August 1, 2026
F
stable

Deficiencies 0% over tracking period

What the records show

CMS rates FLANDREAU SANTEE SIOUX TRIBE CARE CENTER 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 of 5 for health inspections, 3 of 5 for quality measures. Federal inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies across the last three survey cycles, most recently surveyed in 2025, 3 at actual-harm level or higher. CMS enforcement records list 3 fines totalling $27,967.

Facility Assessment Inspectors recorded 3 citations at the actual-harm level or worse in the last three survey cycles.

Reviews, Ratings and Official Records

This page reviews FLANDREAU SANTEE SIOUX TRIBE CARE CENTER using federal government records — CMS star ratings, health-inspection findings, staffing data and enforcement actions. NursingHomeGrade does not collect, host or publish resident or family testimonials, and no star rating below is a consumer review score.

Partial-data grade: missing RN staffing, CMS staffing rating. Missing components add no positive points. RN staffing data not reported — review the inspection and enforcement records below.

Ratings and Grade Breakdown

RN Staffing
Registered nurse time each resident receives daily. 2024 federal benchmark: 0.55 hrs. Repealed February 2026.
Not reported

The 0.55 hour RN standard was repealed effective February 2, 2026 and is not currently enforced. We still grade against it. Why

Health Deficiencies (last 3 survey cycles)
Violations found during federal inspections, with how many remain open and how many involved actual harm.
Total 10
Outstanding 0
Actual harm or worse (G–L) 3
CMS Ratings
Federal five-star ratings published by CMS. These are regulatory ratings, not consumer review scores.
Overall: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Health inspection: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Quality: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Staffing: Not rated
NursingHomeGrade Score
25/100

Loaded into NursingHomeGrade on September 5, 2026. This is the load date, not the date CMS published the underlying survey data — see release dates.

CMS scores each facility from one to five stars — one is in the bottom fifth of facilities in its state on health inspections, five is in the top tenth. Our own A–F grade is a separate 0–100 score built from staffing hours, inspection citations, and the severity and correction status of those citations, weighted as described in our grading methodology.

Inspection Records Covered

Source records: CMS Care Compare profile for provider 43A139 ↗ · the federal files we load and when.

Inspection Deficiencies

Health inspections identify violations of federal standards. Severity ranges from no actual harm (A–F) to immediate jeopardy (J–L).

3 actual harm issues found among 10 total deficiencies. 10 corrected.

Most recent inspection (August 7, 2025)

E Potential harm — pattern F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected September 12, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0755 Status: Corrected

Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.

Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected September 12, 2025

G Actual harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected October 25, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Past Non-Compliance, corrected July 9, 2025

Inspection cycle 2 (April 4, 2024)

D Potential harm — isolated F0604 Status: Corrected

Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.

Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 28, 2024

E Potential harm — pattern F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 28, 2024

G Actual harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected January 29, 2025

G Actual harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Past Non-Compliance, corrected October 18, 2024

E Potential harm — pattern F0656 Status: Corrected

Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.

Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected August 29, 2024

Inspection cycle 3 (April 5, 2023)

D Potential harm — isolated F0658 Status: Corrected

Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.

Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected May 5, 2023

Fines and Enforcement Actions

Penalties CMS has imposed on this facility. A fine is a civil money penalty; a payment denial suspends Medicare or Medicaid payment for new admissions.

Date Action Amount or length
September 30, 2025 Fine $9,110
December 31, 2024 Fine $10,839
October 22, 2024 Fine $8,018

3 fines totalling $27,967.

Source: CMS Penalties file (dataset g6vv-u9sr).

Ownership and Contact Information

Facility name
FLANDREAU SANTEE SIOUX TRIBE CARE CENTER
Legal business name
Legal Business Name Not Available
Address
909 JONES DR, FLANDREAU, SD 57028
Phone
(605) 573-2100
Provider number (CCN)
43A139
Ownership type
Non profit - Other
Medicare/Medicaid certified since
May 5, 2023
Official record
CMS Care Compare profile ↗
Details verified against CMS data dated
August 1, 2026

The federal nursing-home files publish no email address for certified facilities, so none is listed here. We do not guess or construct contact addresses. Contact details above are reproduced from CMS Provider Information; call the facility to confirm before relying on them.

How We Stay Independent

NursingHomeGrade is strictly independent. We do not accept payments from facilities. Our grades are calculated solely from federal CMS datasets.

Learn about our data methodology →

Nearby facilities in FLANDREAU

Compare local nursing homes using the same CMS-backed grading method.

Compare nearby →

Sources and Methodology

The NursingHomeGrade score is our own calculation from these federal files — it is not a CMS rating and not a consumer review score. See exactly how the score is calculated · full methodology · source files and load dates.

Need help choosing a facility?

Get free guidance from senior living advisors. We don't earn a fee for these links, and we never take payment from nursing facilities.

Get help finding alternatives ↗ Compare nearby ↗

↗ Links open independent third-party sites in a new tab.

Get score alerts for this facility

We'll email you when FLANDREAU SANTEE SIOUX TRIBE CARE CENTER's staffing score changes.

More Facilities

Near FLANDREAU

Better graded nearby

All South Dakota facilities →