SALEM MEMORIAL DISTRICT HOSPITAL
35629 HIGHWAY 72, SALEM, MO 65560
- Provider number (CCN)
- 26A381
- Certification
- Medicaid
- Ownership
- Non profit - Corporation
- Certified beds
- 18
- Phone
- (573) 729-6626
- CMS data as of
- August 1, 2026
Deficiencies 0% over tracking period
What the records show
CMS rates SALEM MEMORIAL DISTRICT HOSPITAL 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 of 5 for health inspections, 1 of 5 for staffing, 4 of 5 for quality measures. Federal inspectors cited 12 health deficiencies across the last three survey cycles, most recently surveyed in 2025. CMS enforcement records list 12 fines totalling $92,988.
Reviews, Ratings and Official Records
This page reviews SALEM MEMORIAL DISTRICT HOSPITAL using federal government records — CMS star ratings, health-inspection findings, staffing data and enforcement actions. NursingHomeGrade does not collect, host or publish resident or family testimonials, and no star rating below is a consumer review score.
Partial-data grade: missing RN staffing. Missing components add no positive points. RN staffing data not reported — review the inspection and enforcement records below.
Ratings and Grade Breakdown
|
RN Staffing
Registered nurse time each resident receives daily. 2024 federal benchmark: 0.55 hrs. Repealed February 2026.
|
Not reported |
The 0.55 hour RN standard was repealed effective February 2, 2026 and is not currently enforced. We still grade against it. Why |
|
|
Health Deficiencies (last 3 survey cycles)
Violations found during federal inspections, with how many remain open and how many involved actual harm.
|
Total
12
Outstanding
0
Actual harm or worse (G–L)
0
|
|
CMS Ratings
Federal five-star ratings published by CMS. These are regulatory ratings, not consumer review scores.
|
Overall: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Health inspection: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
Quality: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
Staffing: ★☆☆☆☆ (1/5)
|
|
NursingHomeGrade Score
|
41/100 |
Loaded into NursingHomeGrade on September 5, 2026. This is the load date, not the date CMS published the underlying survey data — see release dates.
CMS scores each facility from one to five stars — one is in the bottom fifth of facilities in its state on health inspections, five is in the top tenth. Our own A–F grade is a separate 0–100 score built from staffing hours, inspection citations, and the severity and correction status of those citations, weighted as described in our grading methodology.
Inspection Records Covered
- Most recent standard health survey: October 16, 2025.
- Citations shown below span 3 recorded inspection cycles.
- Survey dates on file range from August 22, 2023 to October 16, 2025.
Source records: CMS Care Compare profile for provider 26A381 ↗ · the federal files we load and when.
Inspection Deficiencies
Health inspections identify violations of federal standards. Severity ranges from no actual harm (A–F) to immediate jeopardy (J–L).
12 deficiencies found. 12 corrected. None involved actual harm.
Most recent inspection (October 16, 2025)
Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 30, 2025
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 30, 2025
Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 30, 2025
Inspection cycle 2 (September 27, 2024)
Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
Administration Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 11, 2024
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 11, 2024
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 11, 2024
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 11, 2024
Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected November 11, 2024
Inspection cycle 3 (August 22, 2023)
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected October 1, 2023
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected October 1, 2023
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected October 1, 2023
Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected October 1, 2023
Fines and Enforcement Actions
Penalties CMS has imposed on this facility. A fine is a civil money penalty; a payment denial suspends Medicare or Medicaid payment for new admissions.
| Date | Action | Amount or length |
|---|---|---|
| February 20, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| February 12, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| January 22, 2024 | Fine | $14,679 |
| January 8, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| January 2, 2024 | Fine | $4,545 |
| December 11, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
| November 20, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| November 13, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| October 23, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
| September 25, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
| September 5, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| August 28, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
12 fines totalling $92,988.
Source: CMS Penalties file (dataset g6vv-u9sr).
Ownership and Contact Information
- Facility name
- SALEM MEMORIAL DISTRICT HOSPITAL
- Legal business name
- Legal Business Name Not Available
- Address
- 35629 HIGHWAY 72, SALEM, MO 65560
- Phone
- (573) 729-6626
- Provider number (CCN)
- 26A381
- Ownership type
- Non profit - Corporation
- Medicare/Medicaid certified since
- June 25, 1992
- Official record
- CMS Care Compare profile ↗
- Details verified against CMS data dated
- August 1, 2026
The federal nursing-home files publish no email address for certified facilities, so none is listed here. We do not guess or construct contact addresses. Contact details above are reproduced from CMS Provider Information; call the facility to confirm before relying on them.
How We Stay Independent
NursingHomeGrade is strictly independent. We do not accept payments from facilities. Our grades are calculated solely from federal CMS datasets.
Learn about our data methodology →Nearby facilities in SALEM
Compare local nursing homes using the same CMS-backed grading method.
SALEM CARE CENTER
HICKORY MANOR
AURORA HEALTH AND REHABILITATION
ROLLA PRESBYTERIAN MANOR
Sources and Methodology
- CMS Provider Information (file processed August 1, 2026) — ratings, staffing, ownership, certification and contact details. Dataset 4pq5-n9py ↗
- CMS Health Deficiencies — inspection citations, scope and severity, correction status. Dataset r5ix-sfxw ↗
- CMS Penalties — fines and payment denials with the dates CMS recorded them. Dataset g6vv-u9sr ↗
- CMS Ownership — owning and managing organisations. Dataset y2hd-n93e ↗
The NursingHomeGrade score is our own calculation from these federal files — it is not a CMS rating and not a consumer review score. See exactly how the score is calculated · full methodology · source files and load dates.
Need help choosing a facility?
Get free guidance from senior living advisors. We don't earn a fee for these links, and we never take payment from nursing facilities.
Get help finding alternatives ↗ Compare nearby ↗↗ Links open independent third-party sites in a new tab.
Get score alerts for this facility
We'll email you when SALEM MEMORIAL DISTRICT HOSPITAL's staffing score changes.