OHIO EASTERN STAR HLTH CARE CTR THE

1451 GAMBIER ROAD, MOUNT VERNON, OH 43050

Provider number (CCN)
366076
Certification
Medicare and Medicaid
Ownership
Non profit - Corporation
Certified beds
86
Phone
(740) 397-1706
CMS data as of
August 1, 2026
F
stable

Deficiencies 0% over tracking period

What the records show

CMS rates OHIO EASTERN STAR HLTH CARE CTR THE 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 of 5 for health inspections, 1 of 5 for staffing, 3 of 5 for quality measures. Federal inspectors cited 17 health deficiencies across the last three survey cycles, most recently surveyed in 2026, 1 at actual-harm level or higher. CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this facility in the covered period.

Facility Assessment Inspectors recorded 1 citation at the actual-harm level or worse in the last three survey cycles.

Reviews, Ratings and Official Records

This page reviews OHIO EASTERN STAR HLTH CARE CTR THE using federal government records — CMS star ratings, health-inspection findings, staffing data and enforcement actions. NursingHomeGrade does not collect, host or publish resident or family testimonials, and no star rating below is a consumer review score.

Partial-data grade: missing RN staffing. Missing components add no positive points. RN staffing data not reported — review the inspection and enforcement records below.

Ratings and Grade Breakdown

RN Staffing
Registered nurse time each resident receives daily. 2024 federal benchmark: 0.55 hrs. Repealed February 2026.
Not reported

The 0.55 hour RN standard was repealed effective February 2, 2026 and is not currently enforced. We still grade against it. Why

Health Deficiencies (last 3 survey cycles)
Violations found during federal inspections, with how many remain open and how many involved actual harm.
Total 17
Outstanding 0
Actual harm or worse (G–L) 1
CMS Ratings
Federal five-star ratings published by CMS. These are regulatory ratings, not consumer review scores.
Overall: ★★☆☆☆ (2/5)
Health inspection: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Quality: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)
Staffing: ★☆☆☆☆ (1/5)
NursingHomeGrade Score
26/100

Loaded into NursingHomeGrade on September 5, 2026. This is the load date, not the date CMS published the underlying survey data — see release dates.

CMS scores each facility from one to five stars — one is in the bottom fifth of facilities in its state on health inspections, five is in the top tenth. Our own A–F grade is a separate 0–100 score built from staffing hours, inspection citations, and the severity and correction status of those citations, weighted as described in our grading methodology.

Inspection Records Covered

Source records: CMS Care Compare profile for provider 366076 ↗ · the federal files we load and when.

Inspection Deficiencies

Health inspections identify violations of federal standards. Severity ranges from no actual harm (A–F) to immediate jeopardy (J–L).

1 actual harm issue found among 17 total deficiencies. 17 corrected.

Most recent inspection (February 12, 2026)

D Potential harm — isolated F0880 Status: Corrected

Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0881 Status: Corrected

Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.

Infection Control Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

F Potential harm — widespread F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

E Potential harm — pattern F0803 Status: Corrected

Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0761 Status: Corrected

Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.

Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0580 Status: Corrected

Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.

Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

D Potential harm — isolated F0583 Status: Corrected

Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.

Resident Rights Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 20, 2026

Inspection cycle 2 (May 2, 2024)

F Potential harm — widespread F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected May 20, 2024

G Actual harm — isolated F0760 Status: Corrected

Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.

Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected March 21, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0758 Status: Corrected

Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.

Pharmacy Service Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected May 20, 2024

D Potential harm — isolated F0744 Status: Corrected

Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected February 27, 2025

D Potential harm — isolated F0689 Status: Corrected

Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected September 17, 2024

Inspection cycle 3 (March 7, 2023)

F Potential harm — widespread F0607 Status: Corrected

Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.

Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 21, 2023

F Potential harm — widespread F0812 Status: Corrected

Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 21, 2023

D Potential harm — isolated F0805 Status: Corrected

Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.

Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 21, 2023

D Potential harm — isolated F0686 Status: Corrected

Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.

Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies — Deficient, Provider has date of correction, corrected April 21, 2023

Fines and Enforcement Actions

CMS lists no fines and no payment denials for OHIO EASTERN STAR HLTH CARE CTR THE in the enforcement records covering the last three years, as published in the file processed August 1, 2026.

Ownership and Contact Information

Facility name
OHIO EASTERN STAR HLTH CARE CTR THE
Legal business name
OHIO EASTERN STAR HEALTH CARE CENTER, INC.
Address
1451 GAMBIER ROAD, MOUNT VERNON, OH 43050
Phone
(740) 397-1706
Provider number (CCN)
366076
Ownership type
Non profit - Corporation
Medicare/Medicaid certified since
July 25, 1996
Official record
CMS Care Compare profile ↗
Details verified against CMS data dated
August 1, 2026

The federal nursing-home files publish no email address for certified facilities, so none is listed here. We do not guess or construct contact addresses. Contact details above are reproduced from CMS Provider Information; call the facility to confirm before relying on them.

How We Stay Independent

NursingHomeGrade is strictly independent. We do not accept payments from facilities. Our grades are calculated solely from federal CMS datasets.

Learn about our data methodology →

Nearby facilities in MOUNT VERNON

Compare local nursing homes using the same CMS-backed grading method.

Compare nearby →
B

ALS MOUNT VERNON INC

1135 GAMBIER ROAD, MOUNT VERNON, OH 43050

72/100 score 0.89 hrs RN staffing 9 deficiencies
C

COUNTRY COURT

1076 COSHOCTON AVE, MOUNT VERNON, OH 43050

53/100 score 0.66 hrs RN staffing 16 deficiencies

Sources and Methodology

The NursingHomeGrade score is our own calculation from these federal files — it is not a CMS rating and not a consumer review score. See exactly how the score is calculated · full methodology · source files and load dates.

Need help choosing a facility?

Get free guidance from senior living advisors. We don't earn a fee for these links, and we never take payment from nursing facilities.

Get help finding alternatives ↗ Compare nearby ↗

↗ Links open independent third-party sites in a new tab.

Get score alerts for this facility

We'll email you when OHIO EASTERN STAR HLTH CARE CTR THE's staffing score changes.

More Facilities

Near MOUNT VERNON

All Ohio facilities →